CIA "The Sound" Nov. 20

Another great show has come and gone, but if you missed it here is a quick overview of the sounds we were talking about:

This year’s second Laurier Student Composers Concert was held in the Maureen Forrester Recital Hall and saw a diverse range of styles on display. The program went as follows:

West Side Theory by the Seagram Synth Ensemble (AKA your hosts James & James)

Triptych by Isaac Page

Septet by Sergei Kofman

The Deep by Sophie Vogan

Improvisation by Maria Kouznetsova

Through the Fungi Forest by Rinor Baresha

Order In Chaos by Joseph Chiu

The Singing Part from To Know A Fly’s by Arie van de Ven with text by Erika Verhagen

It was an evening full of large ensembles: We heard a septet, a vocal duo with percussion, piano, and strings, and finally a Philip Glass-esque chamber ensemble. Smaller ensembles included two acts heavily using electronics and acoustic instruments in interesting combinations, as well as many instances of improvisation from soloists and small groups. We look forward to seeing you all at the next one, thanks to all who were in attendance! AS always you can listen to and download our weekly show for free on SoundCloud:



Improvisation Concerts Ensemble (ICE) “Does Aleatory” in the Maureen Forrester Recital Hall on Nov. 23rd at 8PM

Laurier Percussion Ensemble Concert in the Maureen Forrester Recital Hall on Nov. 26th at 3PM

The Sound is a show that is run by the CIA (Composers and Improvisors Association), a group of students on campus that represent student artists.  The Sound features music, sound art, poetry, spoken word, short stories (anything really!) that is written by Laurier student, alumni, and faculty.  We would love to have some of your works on the show, if you are an artist at Laurier and what to get your work on The Sound, please do so by sending your file(s) here:          and send us a brief description of your piece.

Leave a Reply